Chimpomatic

Pearl Jam

The Point, Dublin

Having seen Radiohead earlier this year, and with My Morning Jacket coming up in September and MC Hammer in done 1990 only Pearl Jam and Wilco remained as the pillars of my music taste yet to be seen live. Now, after one memorable night in Dublin, Wilco stand alone.

This could have gone either way, as I have been into this band since I was a kid and although I love the new album it rarely gets played when a Pearl Jam mood grips me - often losing out to such classics as Vitalogy or No Code. I was quite surprised to find myself at the front of a seething mass of frenzied fans as I thought it was just me, CSF and a few other Chimp affiliates that still followed this band. Apparently not. Even though the Dire Straits sounding Inside Job is far from being my favourite track on the new album I was very grateful to hear its slow steady build up as the opening track. Had a more anthemic opener been chosen I fear my rib cage would have collapsed under the pressure of 7000 foaming, sweaty fans. This calm intro didn't last long as the band began to race through a string of the best of the new stuff, with the mighty World Wide Suicide being a crowd favourite.

From then on the order of the day was 'hands-in-the-air-platoon-moment-classics,' and it was simply dazzling. Given To Fly had the fans in a blissful state of euphoria and the wonderfully extended version of Daughter was followed by the live favourite Better Man which saw Vedder's voice being drowned out by the swell of a 7000 strong sing along which couldn't help to send shivers down the spine. As if this wasn't enough the first act was brought to a climactic finish with the phenomenal Rear View Mirror, Pearl Jam's finest moment in my opinion. It's a pretty epic song at the best of times, the bands Bohemian Rhapsody if you will, but tonight it was extended beyond my wildest dreams. It dipped and soared and seemed as if it would never end until finally it burst into a climactic crescendo with every light in the house being called upon.

Two encores later and just about every classic you could possibly wish for (including a cover of Dublin favourite The Boys Are Back In Town by Thin Lizzy) and I was truly exhausted. Every time I was fortunate enough to catch a glimpse of Eddie Vedder through sweaty bodies and other peoples wet hair plastered across my face he looked to be having a really good time. Lots of banter with the crowd made us feel that this was an important night for him and the band as well as us, and after a lengthy rendition of Neil Young's Fuckin' Up Vedder thanked the crowd for welcoming them back after six years and humbly departed the stage.

It was clear to see the bands unity after 15 years of playing together as they often huddled together and jammed furiously, as if alone in this great hall. In true Donnington Monsters of Rock style they all stepped aside during Even Flow for a five minute Matt Cameron drum solo which was simply ossum. My only criticism was the shear size of the venue. I gave up fighting for my life while straining to see anything along time ago and even though it beats sitting it's far from ideal. Apart from that it was everything I expected and much, much more.


Links

Pearl Jam
Bootlegs
The Point

Tags

#BC
#Music
#Gig

25th Aug 2006 - Tumblr

4.5

News

Reviews

Articles

Surveillance

Related

Pearl Jam

Backspacer

Pearl Jam

Pearl Jam

Various Artists

I'm Not There [Music From The Motion Picture]

Eddie Vedder

Into The Wild

Grandaddy

Just Like The Fambly Cat

Modern Life is Rubbish

Continually clichéd rock romance that never breaks into originality.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

13th Oct 2018

Read more 1.5 star reviews

Search

England is Mine

Dry Morrissey biopic that gets arty by avoiding using any Smiths songs.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

7th Oct 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

The Only Living Boy in New York

Decent rehash of vintage indie movie tropes.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

7th Oct 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Hostiles

Mumblingly wordy western that’s big on self-importance and low on drama and tension.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

25th Sep 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Disaster Artist

Muddled biopic with occasional moments of eccentric comedy madness.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

22nd Sep 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Boy Downstairs

Like a long episode of Girls that’s all about one of the more boring characters.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

16th Sep 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Shot Caller

Slightly confused slice of post-Michael Mann LA crime.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

7th Sep 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Ingrid Goes West

Sympathetic retread of Single White Female, with added #hashtags.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

26th Aug 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Jumanji

Welcome to the Jungle

Fun updated reboot with added Breakfast Club.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

26th Aug 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Justice League

Low-tide mark for super hero movies. I only finished watching to see how bad it could get.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

14th Aug 2018

Read more 1 star reviews

Song to Song

It’s a cover version of every other Mallick pic, but the setting is inspired and the improv from Gosling is enjoyably enthusiastic.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

8th Aug 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Paddington 2

Well written, well paced sequel. Surprisingly competent and heartwarming.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

4th Aug 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Death Wish

70s pot boiler that lazily meanders through a series of mediocre set pieces.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

23rd Jul 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Thor

Ragnarok

Enjoyable change of pace for the super hero genre. Comedy wins.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

21st Jul 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

How It Ends

Great concept, but shoddily directed and utterly devoid of jeopardy.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

17th Jul 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Anthropoid

Small scale wartime espionage flick. Decent, but a bit laboured.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

15th Jul 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Geostorm

Sub Roland Emmerich swill, with Gerard Butler saving the world from crazy weather.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

13th Jul 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

American Made

Derivative but fun romp through 80s CIA drug and gun running.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

12th Jul 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

The Outsider

Brutally sincere, painfully thin yakuza flick. Jared Leto goes full Gaijin.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Jul 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

The Snowman

Huge misfire from Tomas Alfredson, with a multitude of bizarre choices. Like a bad 80's VHS rental.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Jul 2018

Read more 1.5 star reviews

Bone Tomahawk

Brutally violent, post-Tarantino western. It’s all a bit mechanical.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

2nd Jun 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Solo

A Star Wars Story

Reasonable, forgettable addition. Overfilling that mysterious back story.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

1st Jun 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Atomic Blonde

Lazy double-crossing spy drama, directed with a certain amount of swagger.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

24th May 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Florida Project

Stylish, incredibly depressing portrait of life on the margins.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

12th May 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Brawl in Cell Block 99

Minimally written and confidently directed, with a brutally violent third act. Starring thin Vince Vaughn.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

4th May 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Last Flag Flying

Unofficial sequel to The Last Detail. Surprisingly slight effort from Linklater.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

29th Apr 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Alien

Covenant

Another tired entry, trotting out the same old tropes, plus new nonsensical gibberish.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

13th Apr 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Star Wars

The Last Jedi

Every moment is undermined by a gag and the few serious scenes are sloppily handled.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

13th Apr 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Spider-man

Homecoming

A third crack at Spider-man. Fun-ish, but it’s zero-stakes, zero-jeopardy. Bit smug too.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

31st Mar 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Wonder Woman

Another garish super-hero flick. Slightly above average, mainly by being more old-fashioned.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

30th Mar 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Slow West

Overly dry, eccentric western. Jarmuschian overtones.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

16th Mar 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Wind River

Incredible, tense, original thriller. A western with snowmobiles.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

14th Mar 2018

Read more 4 star reviews

21 Years

Richard Linklater

Career retrospective doc that keeps it fun and doesn’t outstay it’s welcome.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

11th Mar 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

The Mummy

Blockbuster-by-numbers as Universal clumsily attempt to build a franchise.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

24th Feb 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

I’m Now

The Story of Mudhoney

Unsurprising history run-down, enlivened by the band’s ferociously DIY attitude.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

21st Feb 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Cloverfield Paradox

Some good ideas, buried by shambolic direction and storytelling.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

20th Feb 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Get Out

Intense, eerie thriller that’s surprisingly straightforward and a little old-fashioned.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

30th Jan 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Colossal

Disappointingly slow, underdeveloped and literal monster metaphor from Nacho Vigalondo.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

27th Jan 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Light Between Oceans

Long, but moving and stylishly directed period drama. Fantastic cinematography.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

15th Jan 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Logan

Grown-up superhero flick. Handled far better than most, but ridiculously violent.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Jan 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

By the Sea

Slated by the critics, this is a stylish, slight, small movie - with two massive stars in it.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Jan 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Kong

Skull Island

Fun, original take on an otherwise ageing property. Apocalypse Now meets Watchmen.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

5th Jan 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

The Ones Below

Clunky Brit thriller that telegraphs every one of its sub-Hitchcockian twists, despite the decent premise.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

3rd Jan 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Guardians of the Galaxy

Vol 2

Stylish, fast-paced, amusing antidote to the endless stream of generic superhero movies.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

27th Dec 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

La La Land

Disappointingly slight award winner, that doesn’t find its stride until 10 minutes from the end.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

27th Dec 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Bright

Left-field genre mash-up that pitches itself just right. Solid action, good humour. Thoroughly enjoyable.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

25th Dec 2017

Read more 4 star reviews

I, Daniel Blake

Bleak, real-time journey through the realities of living on benefits.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

25th Dec 2017

Read more 3 star reviews

Star Wars

The Last Jedi

Shambolic sequel that squanders the promising set up from JJ, plus 40 year… https://t.co/SdXpv8B5hj.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

21st Dec 2017

Read more star reviews

ET

The Extra Terrestial

Kids on BMXs sticking it to the man. What could be better.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

19th Dec 2017

Read more 5 star reviews

Life

Lifeless sci-fi horror. Gravity meets Piranha.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

12th Dec 2017

Read more 2 star reviews